top of page
  • Brock Booher

HOW DID THIS MOVEMENT GET STARTED?

Updated: Sep 21, 2020


By:Brock Booher

I couldn’t take the craziness anymore—the rioting, the looting, the lack of civil discussion, the breakdown of the rule of law. I wanted to walk away from it all. I wanted to check out.

I posted this on Facebook:

I have avoided Facebook and social media for the past couple of weeks. I couldn't handle it anymore. (Sorry if I missed wishing you a happy birthday.) I am saddened by who we have become as a nation - uninformed, unenlightened, uncivil, unable to think for ourselves. We have become uncitizens. Why have we unraveled so far as a people? Because we are unwilling to learn from our history and are uninspired by the sacrifices of those who went before us. It has become unbearable to listen to and watch.

It left me drifting in no-man's land between disengaging entirely and becoming an uninterested social hermit who ignores the world around me out of spite, or taking up philosophical arms to defend the principles (and history) of this great nation. Because of the influence of another veteran, I landed in the second camp.

Why did I land there? Because years ago I took an oath, an oath to support and defend the Constitution of the United States with my life. That is not a commitment I take lightly.

That is the oath of every soldier, public officer, and elected official in our great nation. We do not take an oath to a leader, a military unit, or a political party. We do not sell our soul to some generalissimo or flavor-of-the-week leader. We take an oath to support the rule of law, particular the supreme law of the land. You can search history in vain for this concept before our Constitution came along. This has made, and continues to make, the United States of America unique.

Let me be unambiguous. The US Constitution is the greatest single political document ever written. It is brilliant in its structure, content, and intent. It is the oldest, continuously-active codified constitution. Most similar documents only last about twenty years. I love what it stands for and will defend it until my last drop of blood.

If you are protesting for change, your best hope is the Constitution. If you support law and order, your best hope is the Constitution. If you think certain statues should be removed, your best hope is the Constitution. If you love/hate the current president (or any other elected leader) your best hope is the Constitution. If you just want to be free to make a living and enjoy your life, your best hope is the Constitution. If you stand for or kneel during the national anthem your best hope is the Constitution. If you wear a MAGA hat, a BLM hat, or don't like hats, your best hope is the Constitution.

We are nation founded on sound principles, liberated by the blood of heroes, and ennobled by the rule of law. If you don't believe that, you need to study our history and become unignorant.


I took an oath to support and defend the Constitution of the United States. I intend on doing that until I am unable to breathe.

My post was shared multiple times and that made me question, “Why do I feel differently than other people about the Constitution?”

I spoke with my son, a combat medic in the army, about my feelings. In spite of our differing political opinions, he felt the same way about the Constitution. He was also prepared to give his life in defense of that wonderful document and the governmental principles it stood for.

Our conversation stuck with me. I wondered—What made us feel differently about the Constitution?

It was the oath. Each of us had taken an oath to support and defend the Constitution when we joined the military. That act committed us to a cause greater than ourselves. All the veterans I spoke with continued to carry that responsibility with them, even after they finished their service. The oath changed the way we thought about the Constitution.

What if the average citizen had the opportunity to take the oath? Would that change them as well? Would that make them feel committed to a cause greater than themselves? With our country seemingly being ripped apart by our differences, I thought it was worth a try.

When I have what I think is a good idea, I usually go share it with people who are more talented than me. They can help me scrutinize the idea and steer my creative energy. I chose to share my idea with Marcus, a former Air Force buddy. He listened and then said, “We are divided on so many issues. This is the one thing we should all be united on.” He caught the vision immediately and now I had a wingman.

We created this website (using our personal time and money) and this movement so that anyone willing to take an oath to support and defend the Constitution can do so. Our hope is to unify us as a nation around our Constitution. We are, and always have been, a divided people, but this is our common ground. This is where we can come together. We can unite in liberty.

So, whatever your background, wherever you stand politically, whoever you might support as a candidate, you can rest assured that when it comes to the Constitution, we stand with you. We hope that you will take the oath and stand with us as well.

Welcome to the cause!

96 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page